Lifestyle

Alone and Happy!

For the first time in a long time, I feel completely happy being single (well, except for when I have to answer those pesky “So, why are you still single” questions). Why? Because I actually want to be. I’m going through some changes in my life that require my full attention on myself and I really don’t need any distractions. I’m making a concerted effort to become the best version of myself, and that includes a “happy” me–and for that, I need to be content with where I am in life. So that’s where I’m going and I won’t let anyone stop me from reaching that place!

Sure, I’ve accomplished a lot by age 27, but there is so much more I want to do before all my “Me” time is taken away by some guy and/or my future family, etc. I’ve always heard married people or people in relationships talk about how much they miss the single life, and I think I finally understand why… Time. It’s priceless. And for now, it is ALL mine. I may as well take advantage while I still have it.

Life is such a balancing act. Before it gets even more complicated by adding a significant other to the equation, I want to make sure I’m more than okay with the various other facets of my life. Some of the things I’m working on include (but are not limited to): my confidence, my health–as you now know, and my career and finances. This list may sound small to begin with, but it’s quite a bit to take on at once, which is why I’m perfectly fine not meeting anyone at the moment.

It’s my time to shine and if that means I have to be selfish, then so be it! How do you juggle your responsibilities with your relationships? I’d love to hear it because someday I won’t be able to focus just on myself. I could use all the tips I can get.

2 thoughts on “Alone and Happy!

  1. I think the key to juggling responsibilities with relationships is to have a network of friends, family, and possibly a significant other that not only make you want to be a better person, but enable and help you to do so. I don’t think having relationships, whether they be romantic or otherwise, hampers your ability to better yourself. While it’s important to have a good idea of who you are prior to entering in a romantic relationship, it helps to think of having a romantic relationship as a journey vs. a destination. Of course everyone will have their own opinion on this matter, but since you asked, that was mine! šŸ˜›

    I think it’s wonderful that you are embracing where you are in life right now! It’s easy to get caught up in the “grass is greener on the other side” rut. šŸ˜‰

  2. I don’t think relationships hamper your ability to better yourself, but they do take time away from you. Thanks for your insight, though. I look up to your and Ronald’s marriage… one of the few happy couples I know! =)

Leave a Reply

